Classic Or Computer?

(I have my doubts about the title.)

To clarify, this is all about the Books vs. Kindle debate.

I know, I know, the topic’s been done to death.

But hey, it’s my blog. So I’m going to bring it up again. Deal with it.

Now, you may be wondering what made me start on this trail of thought.

Did I have an intense theological debate about the effect of computers on our daily lives?

No.

Perhaps, I hear you say, I had a sinking, sudden realisation of how reliant we are on the internet.

Also no.

It could be that, as a young adult, I find myself caught in a transition between two eras, leading to a deep personal crisis about the way I wish to influence our future generations.

Well…true.

But no.

Actually, this is entirely fuelled by the fact that I have a veritable mountain of work for tomorrow next to me, and I don’t want to do it.

Yes, procrastination wins again.

But I need to emphasise that I’m not saying one or the other should be obliterated.

It’s just that I feel that the book has become less treasured, in a way.

People are starting to see them as inconveniences now – which breaks my heart a little, truth be told.

In all fairness, I can understand why – on a Kindle**, you have thousands of books in your hand, on a small compact device. You can save space on the shelves, and you carry around a virtual library with next to no effort at all.

But, as nice as that all is, (and I’m speaking from experience) there’s something about holding in a book in your hand that is just… special.

Maybe it’s just me, but when I hold a book, it gives me a physical sense of the dedication and hours that an author has put into their work.

You can actually see the work that a team of editors, publishers and illustrators have put into it. To me, a book has a presence that I can’t quite ignore.

I think that’s what is missing from its online alternative. It’s easy to access, for sure, but I think that it is this very convenience that has caused us to lose meaning in the art form that is the bound book.

Of course, I can’t rule out that I might just be rambling. It’s very late, and I’m very hungry.

In short, although I won’t give up either, I’m probably more likely to let you borrow the electronic device, than I am to let you leave with a book.

I don’t know how those poor librarians bear it.

(Although, let’s be honest, we should all admit that the hardback cover always looks better.)

And… back to work. *groans*

Sahrish

**or whichever one you use – Google Play Books, iBooks, Kobo… and probably some others I can’t remember at the moment.

Image taken from: http://projectlifemastery.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/amazon-kindle-books.jpg

Leave a Reply

