America’s Last Stand

I admit, the title is a little dramatic.

I truly don’t believe that this is the be-all and end-all of American politics.

But I do believe that America has let itself down in the eyes of the rest of the world.

In recent times, America has lauded itself (in many ways, rightfully) as one of the world’s superpowers – it set itself as an example for the rest of the world. It has been celebrated as a liberal, progressive country, and was seen as the gold-standard. The ultimate. The finish-line.

This is what it is to be great, boasted America.

But in this election, this is not what they demonstrated to the rest of the world. The world watched as America’s population belittled the very ideals it represented.

Equality. Honesty. Respect.

Trump may not turn out to be such a bad president. I am an eternal optimist, even now. I pray that he focuses on the American economy and helps it out of the recession it has been facing these past few years. I hope that he uses his position of power to support and enhance the office in which so many great leaders have poured their lives, their very souls, into the country that we know today.

Who I am angry with, is the people who voted for him. I don’t know what your reasons are. I can’t speak for you.

But you willingly elected a candidate that gained notoriety and support by mocking the very foundations on which the USA was built. Whether or not you agree with everything he said is irrelevant. You enabled someone who used methods of fear and intimidation. You gave a green light to every misogynist, every racist, every bigot worldwide – and then, you gave them a champion.

And to those who voted for Trump purely because you didn’t like Hillary Clinton? You were childish. Because you didn’t look at what the candidates represented. You voted out of spite.

But at least you still voted. I may disagree – vehemently – with your reasoning, but you voted.

And then… there were people who didn’t vote at all. Because “what’s the point?”.

Well, all I can say is this. You wasted the opportunity to make your voice heard.

And that is the height of immaturity. It’s almost laughable.

I admit, I do not have a qualification in politics. I am not American. You might even say that I am too young to understand the complexities of the American electoral system. You could scoff at my supposed immaturity. You could attempt to demean my self-worth with hateful (yet irrelevant) comments about my intelligence, or my appearance. Frankly, go ahead.

Because that would just prove to everyone that they’re right. That America is not great. It is not filled with visionaries, with academics, with hopefuls.

I am upset. I am hurt. I admit that.

Perhaps, in the years that will follow, I will soften my stance on this topic.

But for now, I would like to end with this.

We are all human. All races, every sexuality. Each and every one of us is worth something. You may not feel important, or acknowledged, especially right now. But you matter.

Not every Democrat or Republican is the enemy. Trump has been elected, it’s official – don’t disgrace yourselves by refusing to accept the gift of democracy.

Treat the people around you with kindness, with dignity – and remember that politics are only part of your identity.

I’ll leave it at that, I think.

Sahrish

Image taken from http://www.pymnts.com/news/2016/brexit-stock-shock-part-deux-this-time-from-american-election/

Leave a Reply

